Decorating with Yellow

I have “empty room syndrome” today. I get it whenever I clear a room of furniture. The room didn’t look particularly scruffy when it was “dressed” but now it’s empty it really is asking for a new coat of paint. Well this is good news because I can choose a new paint colour.

I am trying to recreate the sensation I felt when I saw Wolfgang Laib ‘s  hazel nut pollen art installation last year. I would defy anyone to look at this work and not feel gloriously happy, rooted to the spot and completely mesmerised.  The colour of the pollen simply could not be improved.

Wolfgang Laib's Hazel Nut Pollen

As it’s a highly saturated colour I will only be using it in a small area (plus yellow “grows” and intensifies when on a wall).

I am going to mix my own yellow – the reason I am doing this is because it’s a pretty tricky colour to handle. It is all too easy to get greenish undertones in yellow paint because if you try to darken yellow by adding black, instead of turning a darker more intense hue, it actually turns green, very easily and quickly. Plus, you may not see the green under tones until you have painted it all over your walls…..

yellow + black = olive

If you buy ready mixed paint, ask the manufacturer if there is any black in the formula and if there is avoid it unless you want a greenish tinge.

Another thing to bear in mind is that yellow has a high LRV (light reflective value) so it bounces back most of what hits it. It is therefore greatly influenced by surrounding colours – even from outside. If you have leafy green trees outside your window, the yellow will take on a greenish tone. If you live opposite a red brick building, the yellow will look very golden. Lots to consider but get it right and you’ll not be disappointed.

5 thoughts on “Decorating with Yellow

  1. Which room are you sprucing up? Who do you go to for your diy mixing? The pollen colour will look amazing. Interesting how you say yellow grows. Maybe that helps explain why it is the best background colour to read black type on? Maybe not…

    Like

  2. Ah! Well a vital one – my work room so it has to be an inspiring colour. Yes, yellow has interesting changeable properties and needs handled with care – it’s alive! We are lucky in Edinburgh as several paint shops will mix “to order” – I shad add some links.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Fennel, a Blouse and a Bag | unifiedspace

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

