The Hues of Decay

For a paint consultant to love peeling, flaky, rusty decayed surfaces is a bit of an anomaly but I do confess I am totally drawn to such weathered features. I have tried to figure out why this should be so, surely I should be seeking out squeaky clean well maintained pristine examples of paint but no, it’s definitely the ones “in need of attention” that catch my eye.

Of course the reason I and so many others are attracted to these surfaces is because they have created their own unique colour palettes – salt, oxygen, water, pollutants, resins all acting together in an open air chemistry lab to produce a vast selection of colours that we paint consultants can match and use in projects – but generally replicate on smooth and perfect surfaces……

It’s high time I thanked my subscribers for reading and commenting on my blog – you’ve no idea how much I appreciate it. I would also like to point out that I got quite a shock yesterday when I saw my blog on a pc. I work on a mac so the colours I am looking at are much lighter and brighter than the colours on a pc. This is rather an issue as most of the time as you know, I write about colour. It would be interesting to know how many of you are pc users. If it’s a lot, I will try to lighten up my images, just let me know. I also hope you don’t find my way of spelling colour too irritating –  I know most of my readers are American and Canadian, again just let me know!

9 thoughts on “The Hues of Decay

  1. It’s all about the patina, no?

    I love such worn and weathered surfaces and have a few in my home, including two 200-yr-old rush-seated chairs with alligatored paint rails and stiles, one black and two a soft green.

    One of my favorite books is The Well-Worn Interior, full of such glorious examples.

    Like

  2. Your chairs sound like they are steeped in atmosphere. Old pieces of furniture (and houses) make me wonder about the people they belonged to – what they looked like, what they did, what they thought about. Thanks Caitlin, I’ve just looked at that book on Amazon, mmm, my library just got bigger…

    Like

  3. HI, Niki.
    Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on my blog. What a compliment! It’s so great to hear that you are enjoying the podcasts. I actually do agree with you that clothing colors and home colors have a relationship. Although it doesn’t always work that you will find your exact paint color solutions in your closet, I do think that we have our own palettes that we gravitate towards.

    I love this post of yours…and I feel the same about old, peeling paint. I think for me, it is about the story behind the decay. There seems to be a history…some mystery…a richness…to surfaces with that kind of patina.

    Thanks again for visiting. I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

  4. Hi Kelly, yes I agree, the history certainly adds a lot of mystic and I love the fact that the decay is unpredictable and often out with our control. A friend just called after reading the blog and has told me of a great scrap yard near by which is exposed to the harsh elements of the East Coast sea & wind so I will probably be posting more images soon!

    Like

  5. Per your last post about textures, maybe it’s the resulting texture and color variation that weathered surfaces give?

    I love weathered surfaces myself, as Kelly said myself, it’s just the idea of the story (whether real or fictional) that give them that character.

    I’m a PC user, and your blog images look fine on my (calibrated) screen, no lightening needed.

    Like

  6. Don’t worry Charlene, I do that all the time! Yes, you are so right, it’s texture, history plus colour. What great ingredients. I bet you have some great photos of old boat hulls.

    Like

  7. Niki,

    I’m so glad you have stumbled on my blog as well as those of my colleagues, for I am very glad to be introduced to “unified space”. It is beautiful and engaging and I share your sensibilities! Thank you!

    EB

    Like

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

