Shapes from an Industrial Landscape

Someone asked me a pretty valid question yesterday, “why is it that you often write about the colours you find on beaches, hills and forests on your blog, yet your textiles are highly chromatic and inspired from an industrial landscape?”

Actually, the answer is pretty simple. Shapes emerge from industrial structures  which are bold and graphic – shapes which look comfortable in highly saturated hues.

It’s difficult to walk past such obvious patterns, especially during the Winter months when our low sun creates such long and obvious shadows.

The tangle of pipes and tubes look precious not ugly in late afternoon sun,

and the facades of warehouses look like a complex weave,

Living in a city, I see shapes like these every day but I also know that we all must escape the constant city shapes and immerse ourselves in the organic patterns and broken hues of the natural world, equally inspiring but sometimes less obvious for translating into textiles but an environment I am having fun with for my next range.

What landscapes inspire you?

 

10 thoughts on “Shapes from an Industrial Landscape

  1. I think you can find colour & pattern inspiration just about anywhere! I never paid attention to large power antennas until a blogger I follow posted pictures of them, and I realized just how graphic and interesting they are. After reading her post, I took a good look at the antennas at the dog park – when you look at them from the perspective of their graphic quality, they’re really quite beautiful 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Niki, yes, handmade chocolates absolutely count as baking! I’m sure everyone will love seeing and reading about your chocolates – I know I will! I think it’s great that you were inspired to create the chocolates, and who knows, maybe you’ll become the exclusive chocolate supplier to the restaurant 🙂

    The antennae in the dog park are actually pylons – sorry, used the wrong word to describe them. I’m going to bring my camera to the park one day and take some pictures of the pylons 🙂

    Like

  3. Industrial landscapes definitely deliver a kick to the creative eye (or other industrial things, like, ahem, tug boats). But I think anything in the right light/frame of mind will do that though. When I first came to Australia I used to sit at the peculiar bus stops and look down at the peculiar texture of the concrete they lay sidewalks with, so different from where I was from. These little bits of random curiosity are everywhere, but I think most of us succumb to domestic blindness after living with them for years, then we have to learn to see them all over again.

    Like

  4. Very good point Charlene, you are so right, we are surrounded by inspiring shapes wherever we go. As I take a camera everywhere, as I am sure you do, I am always looking – in fact I cant help looking and that in itself can be quite exhausting sometimes as its hard to “turn off”. Better that way than getting “domestic blindness” though!

    Like

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

