Working the New Neon Micro Trend

There are many people in the design world who are steadfast against colour trends. I hear what they say and agree to an extent but there is no doubt that colour trends, especially micro, quick, fleeting trends can add a lot of fun and a great ‘edge’ to an interior. I am not suggesting you embark on an interior makeover every time a colour trend emerges, that would be ridiculous and very expensive, but interiors should inspire, excite and explore new techniques in order to keep them alive.

Perhaps I just have a low boredom threshold but can you imagine your favourite interior shop where and the products remain the same colour every time you visit? I really don’t think that would be much fun.

Enter ‘new neon’. We are talking,  ultra clean-cut, sharp, pulsating colours. Use it in really small areas and it can literally transform a space from dowdy to cool without much effort. The obvious way to do this is with small accessories like a vase or a cushion or even just a zip but I have been trying to source a neon paint to use over a few old randomly shaped glass bottles I was going to dump in recycling. I rather fancy a still life, Giorgio Morandi style but within the group of ever so chic well balanced neutrals slotting in an unhinged neon.

Glowtec UK  have a neon paint range which they claim can be used outdoors too. The trick with this micro trend is definitely less is more. The fashionistas are wearing it on nails, belts or satchels along with ultra femimine tailoring worn in baby soft neutrals tones. It’s the shock factor that this trend is trading on.

Pantone of course have a range of neons (801 to 807 being some of the punchiest) but they are designed for ink printing so most paint stores are unlikely to have the formulation to mix them as paint.

You may have spotted the image below in last weeks post – it was the neon window frame of this design store in Reykjavik that lured me into the workshop. A great example of really working this trend to full advantage.

The problem is, I have now created a dilemma for myself……. can I justify the addition of a neon edge to the profile of my  business card………

11 thoughts on “Working the New Neon Micro Trend

  1. Nice balances. Less is definitely more in the case of neon. This small, yet crucial point was totally missed by some of the interiors mags I saw recently which went for all out neon. Looked like an explosion in a highlighter factory. Not classy!

    Like

  2. Thanks for stimulating happy memories! My bestest birthday party involved neon smiley faces! Go girl go with a neon edged business card- is that not the joy of self employment? Lk fwd to seeing you @ Bad Monkey – provided I leave Aberdeen in time!!

    Like

  3. I vote with Shona for a neon-edged business card. Or – cheapskate/temporary option – edge it yourself! And love Richard’s comment about an explosion in a highlighter factory – so true. Garish beyond words, but a smidge of neon lifts and updates. Great post and gorgeous images, as always. I learn something new from you with every post.

    Like

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

