St.Andrew’s Day and the Winner is…

It’s St.Andrew’s Day and as promised I will announce the winner of the gift pack competition, well two winners actually because my ice cold sleepy fingers pulled two names from the hat this morning.

Saltire and Union flag

I am delighted to tell you that Claire from Make Me a Frock and Sandra from The Colour of Ideas have both won their chosen gift pack. Thank you to everyone who entered and for all the ‘likes’ on my new Facebook page.

And talking of Facebook, have you ever wondered why Facebook’s page is blue? Reporter Jose Antonio Vargas asked founder Mark Zuckerberg that very question and Zuckerberg  explained he suffers from  a red-green colour blindness and that “blue is the richest colour for me — I can see all of blue.”

That’s a good practical reason to choose blue but colour perception is also based on memory of a colour. Consider how you felt as a child when your teacher marked big red crosses on wrong answers (I have real issues using red, perhaps I had rather a lot of wrong answers…) or how  you feel when you watch a red fire engine career towards a dangerous fire. Then think about a clear blue sky and you can understand why blue is such a cherished calm colour and red may stir an alert reaction in us. Of course many other factors play a role in colour perception including the colour’s wavelength and the process our brains go through to decode the wavelength into colour (red being the longest and most difficult wavelength to decode, which probably contributes to our increased heart rate when surrounded by red). life ring

Blue sky, blue sea, red and urgent looking life ring
But back to blue and I would like to wish everyone across Britain and beyond a happy St.Andrew’s Day from a beautiful clear and very cold day here in Edinburgh where there are many Creative Events taking place – I am looking forward to Karine Polwart’s concert at Queens Hall tonight, especially listening to her song, Cover Your Eyes which I first heard while watching the shocking documentary, You’ve Been Trumped a film I mentioned in Sand, Grasses and a Golf Resort.
Have a great weekend and everyone is welcome to drop in to a Christmas Open Studio Event at Red Leaf Studio, Boness this Sunday 12:00 – 4:30pm, it would be great to see you!
gull and blue sky
8 thoughts on “St.Andrew’s Day and the Winner is…

  1. It is absolutely pouring here in Northern California today and cold as well! Ick! My color professor also told me that banks often use blues because it can signify stability.

    Like

    • Golly, ‘pouring’ and ‘California’ are not words I associate in one sentence! I hope it improves over the weekend. We have a lovely dusting of snow on the hills here.
      Yes, I think blue feels very trusting and stable – perhaps that’s why the banks weren’t questioned a bit sooner and we trusted them a bit too much!

      Like

  2. I am so excited that I am a winner, thanks Niki and I hope you are enjoying St Andrews Day. No blue skies here today in fact fog has descended and bathed us in grey, fortunately I am quite fond of grey but blue is probably my favourite colour. Will let you know when the parcel arrives 🙂

    Like

    • Gosh, you even make a grey day sound artistic!

      Yes, thanks, St.Andrews Day was amazing as the Karine Polwart concert was sensational . Her voice is something else and it was really fitting as Michael Forbes the farmer who refused to move from his home for Trump’s golf resort in Aberdeen won ‘Top Scot’ yesterday and received a standing ovation at the Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards (Karine’s song ‘Cover Your Eyes’ was written about this whole sad saga).

      Fingers crossed your parcel arrives in tact 🙂

      Like

  3. Dear Niki, I am sitting at my computer in California and am thrilled to read all your comments and so much of your news. You are one amazing cousin.
    I hope I can find all your news again. What fun to read about you.
    Lots of love from Anne

    Like

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

