When Inspiration Deserts You

It’s been a while since I last posted and that’s because something rather strange happened to me. To put it bluntly, my inspiration evaporated, vanished, dried up (partly due to a rather long bout of labyrinthitis) . Oh dear, I know on social media we are all meant to be oozing with creativity and positive energy but for one day only I will break the unspoken ‘bubbly’ rule. However, I am delighted to report, that finally I am back on track and raring to go. Phew, about time!

orange hull, violet below.

orange hull, violet below.

I mentioned previously that I am working on some woven textiles using blended colours and with this in mind Β I photographed some of the huge ships docked at Leith, Edinburgh’s commercial quay this morning. I hope you enjoy the colour blends and shapes which were boosted by the glorious sunshine we have here today.

blue stripes, red overall

blue stripes, red overall

orange hull and below
metal stripes

metal stripes

orange hull, blue tape

orange hull, blue tape

sun through containers

sun through containers

I enjoy reading great blogs and comments from jewellers, cooks, artists, poets, writers and dress makers and all your posts come thick and fast. Does inspiration ever evade you? And if so, what do you do?

12 thoughts on “When Inspiration Deserts You

  1. Love these photos, you really have a great eye, Niki! When I lose the mojo, I shop for stones. That always gets my juices going again. Looking through back issues of Ornament magazine is always inspiring and usually gives me a needed push in my own direction. But sometimes you just can’t fight it and a break is in order…

    Like

    • Oh yes, I can imagine, shopping for gems and stones would give a real boost but yep, I think you are right, sometimes its just a case of not pushing it because designs never work when its forced. Lovely to hear from you Betsy πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I can certainly empathize. I don’t have the answer, but sometimes if I just go into the kitchen and start cooking, my design inspiration comes back. I’ve learned if I try to force it, it only makes it worse. Good blog! All the best with your textile collection. I can’t wait to see! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Patricia, that’s kind. Funny you should say that about cooking because that’s where I’ve been spending all my time. I love cooking too. I agree, forcing it is not a good plan at all. Lovely to hear from you πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Fantastic photographs Niki and very well worth the wait! I’ve suffered too from inspiration block this Winter and I’m just recovering my oomph a bit…when this happens I need to immerse myself in the things I love so I go to museums and galleries and read other people’s poetry and it makes things look do-able again. In fact just talking to my buddies over coffee and laughing works a treat! Very glad you’re on the mend! x

    Like

    • Oh thank you Claire. Well I do EXACTLY the same but for the first time my numerous gallery visits didn’t unblock me which was really worrying. I couldn’t even take any decent photos despite being surrounded by beauty. However, the cure came at ‘book group’ (and I use that term very loosely!) this week when we were discussing Lady Chatterley’s Lover and I haven’t laughed so much in months, in fact my abs still hurt, brilliant.

      Thank you for your words of wisdom you are absolutely right. x

      Like

  4. I’m glad you’re back – I enjoy your posts. Sometimes it seems to be that’s just how things are for a while – nothing necessarily has to be “done”. On the other hand, for me, getting outside and forgetting myself in the scenery – nature, hopefully – will at the minimum change my frame of view.

    Like

    • You are so right and I know I haven’t been out of Edinburgh enough recently which is crazy as I can reach the Highlands in an hour and a half so I will make sure I don’t get stuck in town for so long again.
      Lovely to hear from you and I’m about to pop over to see what you are up to on your blog – I know I will be inspired there.

      Like

  5. Love the photographs Niki such wonderful colour combinations, I love the last photograph it looks like dripping paint down a canvas. I think just doing something different for a few days until inspiration returns works for me. Glad to here that your inspiration has returned I love all your posts they are always thought provoking. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m glad I’m not the only one that looses the spark now and then – very reassuring! For me it always comes back – and sometimes in unexpected ways! Love the orange and blue theme!

    Like

Please leave a comment, I really enjoy hearing from you

